Monday, June 24, 2013

Stars Dance Selena Gomez
How record labels and retail conspire
To screw you, the consumer

Five weeks from now Hollywood Records releases Stars Dance by Selena Gomez.

Reportedly there's a song she and Taylor Swift either co-wrote or co-perform.

Amazon is adverting it for $11.88; eleven tracks. iTunes offers two extra tracks, Nobody Does It Like You and Music Feels Better, for only $10.99.

Target adds iTunes two additional tracks, plus Love In Me and I Like It That Way for $13.99.

Walmart offers no additional tracks. For $13.88 you get the eleven tracks, plus a DVD of previously released songs, probably what you could get from YouTube.

Record execs wonder why people are ripping and sales are down. Someday there'll be a website where all songs are 99 cents. You don't need to buy the CD. Better yet, how about a video website where people will post the songs as soon as they get the CD? Oh, that's called YouTube.

Saturday, June 8, 2013

Selena Gomez Stars Dance
Track list
To be released July 23, 2013

1. Birthday
2. Slow Down
3. Stars Dance
4. Like A Champion
5. Come & Get It
6. Forget Forever
7. Save The Day
8. B.E.AT.
9. Write Your Name
10. Undercover
11. Love Will Remember